Tuesday, 23 October 2018
Headlines National News Police

DISCIPLINARIAN  |  Police Director Oscar Albayalde, next PNP Chief

MANILA, Philippines (DWDD) – President Rodrigo Duterte has designated National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) Chief, Director Oscar Albayalde as the next head of the Philippine National Police (PNP).

He will be replacing Director General Ronald dela Rosa who is set to step down this April after his term was extended by the Chief Executive.

According to Albayalde, he was overwhelmed by the trust and confidence President Duterte gave him in leading the police organization.

“I will continue and fully support the advocacy of the administration of our President,” he said.

Albayalde vowed to continue the government’s war on drugs, Oplan Tokhang, that netted 1.3 million drug pushers and users and continue to weed out the remaining scalawags from the police organization with their internal cleansing program to instill discipline among police ranks.

“We will continue what we started in the war on illegal drugs,”  “It’s very successful and we have this momentum and we will continue with the momentum,” Albayalde said.

The incoming PNP chief also promised to remain accessible to members of the media. “Nothing will change except my rank and my position.”


When asked what was Albayalde’s edge over other contenders, Dela Rosa said that he deemed the next PNP chief as a bright boy in several conversations and speeches as  he graduated cum laude at the PMA and the 7th in the “Sinagtala” Class of 1986. He received a lot of academic distinctions than anyone in his class, as he was included in the Dean’s, Academics and Superintendent’s list. Added to this was his accomplishments as head of the NCRPO.

A native of San Fernando, Pampanga, Albayalde started as a member of the elite force of the defunct Philippine Constabulary. He was the provincial director of Pampanga and then the executive officer of the Directorate for Plans when he was named NCRPO chief.

Albayalde is set to retire on Nov. 8, 2019, unless the president decides to extend his term. AES

Post Comment