Thursday, 21 June 2018
Headlines Military News

10 NPA Rebels Surrender in Ifugao

nolcomCamp Aquino, Tarlac City – Ten (10) members of the Milisyang Bayan (MB) of the New People’s Army (NPA), led by its Commanding Officer (CO), Jacinto Hambon AKA VENDO, voluntarily surrendered to the 54th Infantry Battalion, 5th Infantry Division, Philippine Army in Brgy. Namal, Asipulo, Ifugao on April 3, 2017.

 The said Milisyang Bayan (MB) members were under the Nona Del Rosario Command (NDRC) of the NPA operating in Asipulo, Ifugao. The other surrenderees were identified as Tito Antonio AKA TITO; Rudy Tindaan AKA RUDY; Kit-ilan Kitano AKA KITS; Gabriel Bacdayen AKA TALAKA; Alfredo Kindipan AKA ALFRED; Dennis Hindac AKA PALAYON; Victor Palangyew AKA VICTOR; William Natalec AKA WILLIAM; and Kidipan Humiwat AKA JUNIOR. They were accompanied by Asipulo Vice-Mayor Tomas Pullupul, PCI Leo D Guay, the Chief of Police of Asipulo Municipal Police Station, and Namal Brgy Chairman Grace Tayaban. After proper documentation, the rebel returnees signed and pledged an oath of allegiance to the Republic of the Philippines and denounce the unacceptable principles and practices of the CPP/NPA.

 A total of 21 NPA surrenderees were now recorded in NOLCOM area just in a span of four (4) days from March 31 to April 3, wherein six (6) of them were from Kalinga, five (5) from Abra and ten (10) in Ifugao. Disintegration among the ranks of the Milisyang Bayan (MB) would mean a reduction in strength in the NPA armed struggle.

 With these positive developments, NOLCOM Commander, LTGEN ROMEO T TANALGO manifested his gratitude for the support provided to the NOLCOM troopers by the LGUs, the PNP and the community by large. The collaborative efforts made by all stakeholders would finally lead the nation to a state of lasting peace and sustainable development.

Post Comment